nervousmotion artworks blog



Taming the Beast.

I’m usually not one for how-to guides on anything artistic, but I started browsing this book – Mastering Your Digital SLR – at Borders yesterday while sitting in the café, and I ended up going home with it because it is by far the most practical guide to a DSLR that I’ve ever come across. It shows you bare-bones what the camera is capable of without being prescriptivist as to what you should do with the camera.

I’ve made some cheat sheets to carry in my mini-Moleskine (which I take everywhere and could wax evangelically about how I couldn’t possibly live without it) so that I can consult them “in the field” so to speak. This makes me feel like a huge camera nrrrrd, but so it goes. I suppose acquisition of DSLR has plunged me head-first from “I like to take pictures” to full-on photographic passion. Others have pointed out, and I strongly agree, that having a better camera doesn’t make you a better photography. But oh holy G-d, does it ever open up a lot more opportunities where photo-taking is concerned. And let’s face it, it’s a wicked fun toy.

So, yes, if you have a DSLR and you want to really get to know all of its many features, I highly, HIGHLY recommend this book. Plus, it’s pretty.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. that is just great that you found a book you relate to. I remember when I first acquired my 35 mm Yashica and how fascinated I was with understanding it so I bought a simple kodak book about film photography and I can still remember bits of it.
    I’ll check out your find
    peace
    cheyanne

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

