nervousmotion artworks blog


« Hearts! | Home | Hail Mary. »

Mixed Media.

I really like webcomics that point out the futility of art school. Really, really. Perhaps this is just because I’m bitter that at the end of my college career, my thesis committee asked me why I bothered majoring in art in the first place. Perhaps this would have been a better conversation to have had, oh, four years previous. Anyhow, all is said and done now and I have a useless BA in Studio Art, a reasonably successful artistic life, and a job slinging coffee. Sweet. I’d like to point out for the record that I easily could have had the last two without the $120,000 investment in the first. Luckily, I got a lot of grants. I am only $16,000 in debt for my overpriced education! Awesome!

 

[from Natalie Dee]

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jessica says:

    Hey– well at least you have a leg to stand on when it comes to Art, and people take you seriously– I’m just a mom and a teacher and a wife who loves to draw and paint and do all sorts of art… and I call myself an artist… but people don’t see me as one…………..
    AND, good going on the grants… Those really pay off huh! :no pun intended:. AND I LOVE Natalie Dee’s art and her husband’s too at “toothpaste for dinner”… they both crack me up!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  2. * Sonja says:

    The difficult part for me is the line between having people take me seriously as an “artist” and being able to make the quick buck by selling things on Etsy. It seems like the two don’t easily co-exist. “Oh. You’re an artist. With an Etsy shop. How cute.” *sigh*

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

