nervousmotion artworks blog



Frida-O-Rama.

When I was in pTown, I saw a boatload of Frida-related merch. I guess Ms. Kahlo is enjoying an surge of popularity related to the bio-pic with Salma Hayek a few years ago and the various exhibitions surrounding her centennial. I have to wonder though how she feels about boho urbanites decorating their homes with her visage on their throw pillows. Given her criticisms of the consumer-driven capitalist American money-making machine, I can’t imagine she would be pro.


And oh, wow, a google search for Frida related imagery brought up this piece by artist Trek Thunder Kelly. While I do admire the gender-bending, again, I can’t imagine Frida enjoying being the “face” of Calvin Klein men’s briefs – but perhaps that’s the whole point.

Leave a Reply

