nervousmotion artworks blog



Motorists Urge to Free Tibet.

I’ve been thinking a lot about Tibet lately.  A string of teeny little serendipitous events has me delving head-first into the Buddhist philosophy that I was brought up with as a child, which, naturally, leads to Tibet.  I’m reading The Tibetan Book of the Dead, and also coincidentally coloring in my mandala coloring book, so it’s been at least in the back of my mind lately, if not right on the front burner. 

The wonderful nickyskye on MetaFilter had a post today on modern Tibetan art that I feel the need to forward to the three of you reading this who don’t also read MeFi. It’s truly, truly wonderful stuff. I’m still digging through the whole thing; there’s quite a lot of material! This piece by Gonkar Gyatso particularly resonates with me – his use of collage, juxtaposition of modern/traditional elements, and it’s just a wee bit tongue in cheek. I’ll be checking out the rest of the works throughout the day, and certainly mulling this over for a while. It’s excellent, excellent stuff. 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * nickyskye says:

    Thank you for the lovely compliment, Sonja, I’m so glad you liked that post and the art to which it linked. Best wishes to you in your exploration of Buddhism.

    May I suggest you consider checking out Vipassana courses?
    http://www.dhamma.org/

    and their online audio
    http://www.pariyatti.org/ResourcesProjects/Podcasts/tabid/58/Default.aspx

    Very best wishes,
    Nicky

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

